City of Ocean Springs

    PRESS RELEASE - Temporary Suspension of Public Visitors to all Public Buildings

    PRESS RELEASE

    For details and information concerning this release, please contact Meggan Brown, Executive Assistant to the Mayor and Board of Aldermen, at 228-875-6722.

    March 16, 2020- For Immediate Release

    City of Ocean Springs - Temporary Suspension of Public Visitors to all Public Buildings

    Ocean Springs, MS - In response to COVID-19 (Caronavirus) the City of Ocean Springs is temporarily suspending all visitors from public buildings. This includes but is not limited to: City Hall, Park & Recreation, Public Works, Building Department, Planning Department, and rental facilities.

    911 calls and dispatch, the Police Department, Fire Department, and Municipal Court are following normal business hours and allowing public visitors.

    Parks & Recreation after-school's camp program WILL BE CLOSED the week of March 16-20, 2020 as Ocean Springs School District has closed. We follow OSSD closure protocols for emergency situations therefore we will not re-open until OSSD has announced that they will re-open.

    All city services are moving forward as regularly scheduled such as trash pick-up, water payment, and permits. Any payment can be paid online, over the phone, or dropped off in the drop box at City Hall. Any cash payment over the bill amount will be applied as a credit on the account, no change will be given at this time due to public safety. City staff are working regular hours and will be available for communication via email or phone. Please see the list below for all departments and email addresses.

    ***LATE FEES WILL NOT BE APPLIED TO WATER BILLS AT THIS TIME***

    The Board of Aldermen Meeting scheduled for Wednesday, March 18, 2020 will proceed as usual. We encourage you to join us live via our YouTube Channel which can be found at WWW.YouTube.Com and search "City of Ocean Springs, MS."

    If you have any comments or concerns regarding the Public Hearing scheduled for Wednesday, please email them to planningadmin@oceansprings-ms.govbefore 4pm on March 18th and they will be read out loud during the public hearing.

    City Hall: 228.875.4236 or Mjones@oceansprings-ms.gov

    Mayor's Office: 228.875.6722 or Mbrown@oceansprings-ms.gov

    Water Department: 228.875.4176 or Mboston@oceansprings-ms.gov

    Building & Code Enforcement: 228.875.6712 or Aherren@oceansprings-ms.gov

    Planning Department: 228.875.4415 or Planningadmin@oceansprings-ms.gov

    Parks & Rec: 228.875.8665 or Gstraight@oceansprings-ms.gov

    Public Works: 228.875.3955 or Aladner@oceansprings-ms.gov & Chooks@oceansprings-ms.gov

    Municipal Court: 228.875.5009 or OSMC@oceansprings-ms.gov

    XXXX

     

    Press Release