City of Ocean Springs

    Ocean Springs announces Mayor’s Youth Council for 2015-2016

    Ocean Springs announces Mayor’s Youth Council for 2015-2016

    Ocean Springs, Miss. – The City of Ocean Springs has chosen 31 high school students to serve on the 2015-2016 Mayor’s Youth Council.  Modeled after the Mississippi Municipal League Youth Services, council members will serve as city ambassadors at city events, volunteer with various city departments, develop community service projects, and provide a voice for youth in local government.

    Officers and council members for this year’s Mayor’s Youth Council are: Cady Cooper, President; Sunna Savani, Vice President; Jessica Leonard, Secretary; Sally Boswell, Special Projects Coordinator; Kassidy Biss, Communications and Technology Coordinator; Marissa Anderson, Addison Barchie, Karley Bishop, Camille Blakenship, Marina Blakenship, Isabella Capalbo, Daelyn Cook, Patrick Cressler, Treviso Davis, Lea Dudte, Samuel Edmonson, Olivia Eustice, Davida Franklin, Carli Gustafson, Chelsea Harris, Jackson Holland, Aubrey Johnson, Victoria Lee, Mary Agnes Mestayer, Skylar Read, Isabella Rubenstein, Brayden Thomas, Jillian Vice, Tres Wade, Margaret Wakham, and Kate Wilson.

    The council was presented to the Mayor and Board of Aldermen at their regular meeting on Tuesday. The Mayor encouraged the council to be vocal about their ideas to make Ocean Springs better for the youth in the community.

    "The City is proud to sponsor the Mayor’s Youth Council,” said Mayor Moran. "The Aldermen and I intend to provide a forum for our youth in leadership training and community activism.  We look forward to gaining a youthful perspective on Ocean Springs.

    Ravin Floyd, Public Information Officer for the City, serves as the group’s facilitator.